YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Report and discuss bugs here!
muaddubby
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:04 pm

YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby muaddubby » Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:00 pm

Hi

After running with the beta from 2013-02-11 (with Java rendering mode), I upgraded to 0.4.0 and yawcam now refuses to start up. The application logo shows up for a split second, disappears, and then nothing. Some of the things I tried:
* removing the java rendering mode text file
* running in debug mode (no logs produced)
* completely uninstalling the app and deleting the installation folder as well as c:\users\[username]\.yawcam
* reinstalling both the beta and v0.4.0 (with full uninstall and reboot in between)

Any idea what else I can try to get this running again ?

Advertisement



muaddubby
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:04 pm

Re: YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby muaddubby » Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:10 pm

Please ignore. Something seems to have gone wrong with the last Java update. I was reading through another post on the forum that talked about checking the version of the java runtime, and ran this:

C:\>java -version
Error occurred during initialization of VM
java/lang/NoClassDefFoundError: java/lang/Object

That was a dead giveaway. Downloading and reinstalling the Java runtime fixed the issue.

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby malun » Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:41 pm

I'm glad that worked out for you :D
And thanks for sharing your solution.

/malun

hushtalk
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby hushtalk » Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:34 pm

I did all of the above including updating java,...

z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Re: YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby z3r0c00l12 » Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:43 pm

hushtalk wrote:I did all of the above including updating java,...


What do you get when you run the command "java -version"?

hushtalk
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby hushtalk » Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:04 am

I've got java 17 update 15(64 bit),

but also got same msg as above:

Image

I re installed java also but no luck still

z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Re: YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby z3r0c00l12 » Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:33 am

After re-installing java, what does the command say?

hushtalk
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby hushtalk » Sun Mar 03, 2013 11:57 am

with a bit of google, I found this and got it to work thanks
http://forum.ragezone.com/f578/fix-erro ... vm-720611/

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby malun » Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:36 pm

Great! Thanks for sharing the solution.
/malun

72sonett
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 8:22 pm

Re: YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby 72sonett » Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:37 pm

When I start my Yawcam v.0.3.7 I now get the message that there is a version 0.4.0 available and if I want to download - Yes/No.

If I choose 'No' , Yawcam exits instead of starting my old version 0.3.7. Obviously I cannot switch off the 'check for new vesion' option as I cannot start the old version. I prefer waiting to download a new version of anything...

How can I start my old v.0.3.7?

z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Re: YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby z3r0c00l12 » Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:43 pm

I used to have the same message, but didn't have any problems, I just clicked no and yawcam would start. I had yawcam start minimized, so I had to click on the icon in the system tray to open it, but it was running.

I've upgraded to 0.4.0 without any problems.

Check in your system try to see if it's running. If it's not there, check task manager for a process called javaw.exe. If neither of those are there, check the Yawcam logs in the .yawcam folder for any clues (you can post it here). Worst comes to worst, I can probably find the setting in my yawcam_settings.xml file and help you add it to skip the new version check.

72sonett3
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:22 pm

Re: YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby 72sonett3 » Sun Mar 31, 2013 12:40 am

javaw.exe is running but I cannot find any yawcam window.

Meanwhile, I have downloaded v.0.4.0 in another folder, but when I start Yawcam from the shortcut I also get v0.4.0 instead of my old version 0.3.7. When I start yawcam.exe from the v0.3.7. folder, I still keep getting the 'new version available' message.

(This type of problems always make me hesitate to install a new software version... :( )

z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Re: YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby z3r0c00l12 » Sun Mar 31, 2013 12:59 am

Well, it's simple to explain, when you installed version 0.4.0, it overwrote the 0.3.7 shortcuts. That's normal.

Have you tried using 0.4.0, it may not have the problem.

If javaw.exe is running, then yawcam is running, try checking your system tray (near the clock) for yawcam's icon.

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: YAWCAM no longer starts with version 0.4.0

Postby malun » Sun Mar 31, 2013 12:10 pm

You can get two types of messages regarding versions when Yawcam starts.

The first message is to announce that a new version exists to download. It looks like this:

Code: Select all

A new version of Yawcam (v.0.4.0) has
been released on www.yawcam.com

Would you like to download the new version now?

If you click "Yes", Yawcam will exit and the download page will open up in your browser.
If you click "No", the old version of Yawcam will start as usual.


The second message you can get looks like this:

Code: Select all

The version of the settings file (v.0.3.9) isn't the same as the version of yawcam (v.0.4.0).
Do you want to continue and try to save the file in format v.0.4.0 ?

This means that you are starting Yawcam 0.4.0 but the settings file is in format 0.3.9.
If you click "Yes", Yawcam will update the settings file to the new format and start the new version.
If you click "No", Yawcam will exit (and the leave the old settings file unchanged).


My guess is that you get the second message?
If you installed the new version of Yawcam, the shortcut was overwritten and you are now trying to run the new version with the old settings file.

Usually there is always okay to let Yawcam save the settings file in a newer format. It's only when you downgrade and let Yawcam save the settings file in an older format that you will loose the settings that was added in the new version.

/malun


Return to “Bugs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests