file locking on upload?

Report and discuss bugs here!
jp

file locking on upload?

Postby jp » Fri Apr 16, 2004 4:39 pm

Hi,

I have diificulties with the file transfer. At a certain point it stops saying it cannot find the directory. I asume that this is some kind of filelocking which prevents the image being overwritten by the new image. Sometimes it works but I have not managed more than 10 minutes (1 minute interval).

streaming and ftp works brilliant ( I am posting several nasty questions but that is because I like it al ot already and would like it to be even better).

setup:
mapped network drive (linux samba, actually it is the same directory the ftp is uploading to (not simultaneously no)). When I set yawcam up it can find the drive no problem and wil copy the first file. But after a few uploads it cannot find the folder anymore.
I have no problems read-write access to the networked drive with for instance explorer.

JP

Advertisement



malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Postby malun » Fri Apr 16, 2004 8:00 pm

Yawcam needs nasty questions! Otherwise it wouldn't get any better...

I agree, this sounds like a filelocking-problem. What image type are you using? I recently found that the "gif-writer" didn't released the file as it should.
So right now I'm hoping that you used gif-files, in that case the bug is allready fixed :D
Otherwise I have to look for errors. (But that's fun too ;-) )

/malun

jph

Postby jph » Fri Apr 16, 2004 11:25 pm

sorry:jpeg, I could give png a shot I will try that tomorrow. Is there a logfile somewhere by the way?

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Postby malun » Fri Apr 16, 2004 11:55 pm

Nope, no logfile.
But if you want to you can start yawcam with a different startfile. Then you will see a prompt with debug prints and error messages if somethings goes wrong. Get the file here.
Save the file in your yawcam directory and start yawcam by dubbel click on the file.

Look for lines with the word 'exception'. If you could send those error messages to me would be nice :D

/malun

jp
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 6:23 pm

Postby jp » Mon Apr 19, 2004 11:52 am

I have since switched of auto-start streaming at programme start up after I read about the memory problems related to that. This may also have resulted in yawcam not opening in a very steady state. File upload is working like a dream.:D
Disabling the stream from auto-start has also made the problem of starting the programme from a different account disappear (see other thread in this forum).:)

The only thing I'm struggling with is stream but I will continue from the thread in the other forum on that. :(

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Postby malun » Mon Apr 19, 2004 6:08 pm

jp wrote:Disabling the stream from auto-start has also made the problem of starting the programme from a different account disappear

I'm just getting more and more confused... But if it works then it's great! I'm just hoping the bug-fix I've made in the coming version will solve this problem too. So that the stream-startup option will be useful...

/malun


Return to “Bugs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests