Bug in Applet 0.2.6 - using different webserver

Report and discuss bugs here!
kwikone
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 5:40 pm

Bug in Applet 0.2.6 - using different webserver

Postby kwikone » Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:29 pm

When using a different webserver/page to host the applet it always gives an error indicating :? "Err. Chk Host! Usr online?". Yet when going to the Yawcam server direct it works fine :) .
To see this error go to http://www.vabid.com/Webcam.htm :!:
To see the Yawcam hosted page directly, go to http://komodo.ipupdater.com:8081/ :!:

If you check the Webcam.htm source you can see that it is identical with the other except for where the applet is loading from.

What now? Is it something that I didnt do, or do wrong?

==Added Info Jul 25===
The PC running Yawcam server is running Java J2SE 5.0 Update 4. Also you will notice I dont declare the http part in the CODEBASE. This is because when I do Java will not load the applet

Advertisement



beantree
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:18 pm

Problem using own server

Postby beantree » Tue Aug 29, 2006 4:00 pm

I am experiencing the same problem as kwikone.

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Postby malun » Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:31 am

I'm not sure what goes wrong here... But I can tell that kwikone has uploaded the YawApplet.class to the webserver, and that could probably make some browsers confused?

Delete the YawApplet.class from your webserver at http://www.vabid.com. The applet file shall be loaded from Yawcam via the CODEBASE tag.

This should at least be a first step in the error finding process.

/malun

kwikone
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 5:40 pm

Postby kwikone » Tue Oct 10, 2006 5:57 pm

malun wrote:I'm not sure what goes wrong here... But I can tell that kwikone has uploaded the YawApplet.class to the webserver, and that could probably make some browsers confused?

Delete the YawApplet.class from your webserver at http://www.vabid.com. The applet file shall be loaded from Yawcam via the CODEBASE tag.

This should at least be a first step in the error finding process.

/malun

Malun,
:wink: Actually, the server at www.vabid.com does not have the applet!!!
The code is as follows (view source to verify)...

Code: Select all

          <applet Code="YawApplet.class" CODEBASE="komodo.ipupdater.com:8081/" WIDTH="320" HEIGHT="240">
            <!-- <applet Code="YawApplet.class" WIDTH="320" HEIGHT="240">  -->
            <param name="Host" value="komodo.ipupdater.com">
            <param name="Port" value="8081">
          </applet></p>

The line with the <!-- / --> on it is an html comment and should not confuse browsers (I stuck it in AFTER I was having problems to see if loading from the server would work - commented the line above - but it gave the same error about being offline).

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Postby malun » Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:42 pm

I know how comments work :wink:
I just typed www.vabid.com/YawApplet.class in the browser and found the file. That's why I suspected that the applet was located on the server.

Are you sure it's not there?

/malun

beantree
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:18 pm

Postby beantree » Mon Oct 30, 2006 11:08 am

I have now removed all trace of the class from my web server.

The code I used is as follows...

<APPLET CODE=YawApplet.class CODEBASE="http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8081/" WIDTH="320" HEIGHT="240">
<param name="Host" value="xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx">
<param name="Port" value="8081">
</APPLET>


...where the xxx piece is the IP address of the system running yawcam

This just works!
Thanks for your pointers Malun :D


Return to “Bugs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests