D-Eye Windows Sidebar Gadget

Questions? Suggestions? Need help? Talk about anything related to Yawcam...
prutserke
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:00 pm

Re: input

Postby prutserke » Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:33 pm

Thomas Acid wrote:Use "localhost" instead your ip adress or try to input your ip using copy & paste, manual input, virtual keyboard, everything you can imagine.
If nothings work, browse to C:\Users\your_user_name\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Sidebar and locate the file "Settings.ini". Open this file in Notepad and post what you can read there.

@Thomas Acid and Dragnier

Thanks for the tips.
I used localhost in stead of the IP and it worked at once.
Here is the content of the ini file regarding the D-Eye gadget.

Code: Select all

[Root]
SettingsVersion="00.00.00.01"
SidebarShowState="Imploded"
SidebarDockedPartsOrder="0x8,0x7,0x4,0x1,0x2,0x5,0x3,"

Section6="8"

[Section 8]
PrivateSetting_GadgetName="C:%5CUsers%5CDE[My_logon_name]%5CAppData%5CLocal%5CMicrosoft%5CWindows%20Sidebar%5CGadgets%5CD-Eye0.3.gadget"
PrivateSetting_Enabled="true"
url="192.168.1.2"
port="8888"
refresh="15"
PrivateSetting_GadgetTopmost="false"
PrivateSetting_SidebarDockedState="Docked"
PrivateSetting_GadgetDropLocationX="1230"
PrivateSetting_GadgetDropLocationY="202"


When first opened the ini file, the value i saw for url was indeed "19216812". Like i reported.
Then i realised i had some trouble before with the international settings.
I changed the internatiional settings.
The decimal sign and the digit grouping symbol.
The first was a , i changed it to . and versa.
Then i reentered the IP adress and it worked too.
Keyboard settings, can you believe it

Advertisement



malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Postby malun » Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:38 pm

@Dragnier
One suggestion is that the gadget internally could remove the first http:// if the user enters the address with http:// in the beginning.

In that way, both "http://ip-address" and "ip-address" would work.

/malun

Dragnier
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:27 am

Postby Dragnier » Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:04 am

@malun

thanks for the suggestion. i'd add that up along with the next version

Thomas Acid
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 7:01 pm

Lifehacker

Postby Thomas Acid » Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:08 pm

Hey Dragnier,

I have suggested your gadget as a tip to lifehacker's editors and now
they published a post on D-Eye: http://lifehacker.com/5468518/desktop-eye-puts-webcam-surveillance-right-in-your-windows-sidebar

Maybe you will get heavy traffic in your web site :D :D :D
Keep your eyes in the download counter!

Dragnier
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:27 am

Postby Dragnier » Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:59 pm

i see. so that was the reason. i seriously thought the counter got messed up as it jumped from 70+ to 300+ :shock: . i think its over 500+ right now.

thank you so much for taking the extra effort. :D :D :D

Dragnier
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:27 am

Postby Dragnier » Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:33 pm

Hi everyone,

I've just uploaded version 0.40.

It no longer matters whether you include http:// in the URL or not
Added the ability to "turn-off" the gadget so that only a small button can be seen.

just head to http://sticktech.net and click the D-eye tab to get the latest version.

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Postby malun » Sat Feb 13, 2010 6:41 pm

Nice!

/malun

Laura Boivin
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:06 am

Postby Laura Boivin » Sun Feb 14, 2010 1:44 am

OK, at the risk of sounding like a real duh...I need to ask what the point of this gadget is.

Is it something that you install in your computer to be able to access webcams quickly?
Is it something for the web?

If it's for the web, I am interested, but if it's just for my desktop,,,well...we won't go there. I don't even have the weather icons, calendars or clocks on my desktop. The less interference I have, the better.

So, could someone please enlighten me.

Have to add that I am strictly an IE user. Only keep Firefox on a stick to check my websites.

Thanks :)

Dragnier
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:27 am

Postby Dragnier » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:01 am

its basically a sidebar gadget that sits on your desktop, only works with Win7 and Vista though. It just pulls images from HTTP so that you don't need to always have a browser open to monitor the camera you've set-up with Yawcam.

i use it to so that I can take quick peeks using win+space and when there is something interesting happening, I fire-up the browser and go to the Stream for faster updates.


edit:

by the way, I've thought of a new feature for a future release that I think would be cool for those who want other people to see their cams. I've already proposed the idea to Laura as her cam would have been a good example and the only one I know of that is open to the public but she was not interested so I'm still looking for volunteers :lol:

I'm planning to add a menu with these elements:
My Own Cam
Person 1 Nature watch
Person 2 weather watch

Only the first can be edited via the options page while the rest are fixed. Selecting any of the options would change the source of the images that are being shown. So clicking on "Person 1 Nature Watch" would switch the view to person 1's cam and clicking "My Own Cam" would bring you back to the URL that you've entered on the options page.

I would also be adding the ability to jump to the cam owners webpage just by double-clicking the image so that they can interact with other people there. It would also be a quick way to jump to the stream provided on the webpage in-case you have one.

So if anyone has a cam that's open to the public and is interested, just send me a PM with the URL of your webpage. Thanks! :D :D :D

Laura Boivin
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:06 am

Postby Laura Boivin » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:55 am

Thanks for the explanation Dragnier. I'm using XPpro so that eliminates me right from the start. :(

At least I don't have to wonder about it anymore. :)

prutserke
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:00 pm

Postby prutserke » Sun Feb 14, 2010 1:30 pm

Dragnier wrote:I've thought of a new feature for a future release that I think would be cool for those who want other people to see their cams. I've already proposed the idea to Laura as her cam would have been a good example and the only one I know of that is open to the public but she was not interested so I'm still looking for volunteers :lol:

I'm planning to add a menu with these elements:
My Own Cam
Person 1 Nature watch
Person 2 weather watch

Only the first can be edited via the options page while the rest are fixed. Selecting any of the options would change the source of the images that are being shown. So clicking on "Person 1 Nature Watch" would switch the view to person 1's cam and clicking "My Own Cam" would bring you back to the URL that you've entered on the options page.

I would also be adding the ability to jump to the cam owners webpage just by double-clicking the image so that they can interact with other people there. It would also be a quick way to jump to the stream provided on the webpage in-case you have one.

Can be usefull when you have multipplr webcams to monitor.
Say 1 in the front of the house and 1 in the back of the house.

Thomas Acid
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 7:01 pm

Postby Thomas Acid » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:40 pm

Laura Boivin wrote:... I'm using XPpro so that eliminates me right from the start. :( ...

As I say in my first post, I'm have used Active Desktop to display Yawcam pages in my desktop, in win XP.
Win XP have native hability to do this:
http://www.worldstart.com/tips/internet-tips/website-on-desktop.htm

Just point your web page url to http: //yawcam_machine_ip_adress:8888/update.html

Tips:
- To prevent mess up your Yawcam installation, make a copy to update.html before edit it. So, your url will be http: //yawcam_machine_ip_adress:8888/new_update.html.
- You need to disable the "refresh page" sound in IE, or you will get an annoying "tick" every 10 seconds. How to do this: http://www.ecommercepartners.net/blog/how-to-cancel-remove-the-internet-explorer-refresh-sound.html
- You can use the stream url too(http: //yawcam_machine_ip_adress:8081), but side effects may accur in some systems (crash active desktop, slowdown windows, etc)

Laura Boivin
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:06 am

Postby Laura Boivin » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:52 pm

Thanks for the tip Thomas Acid....

ukashkart
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 1:31 am

Re: D-Eye Windows Sidebar Gadget

Postby ukashkart » Mon May 13, 2013 1:44 am

i've tried downloading the file both with firefox and IE and there was no problem. I think other people are able to download it as well as it's been dowloaded

bugmenot-user
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:37 am

Re: D-Eye Windows Sidebar Gadget

Postby bugmenot-user » Thu May 30, 2013 12:58 pm

ukashkart wrote:i've tried downloading the file both with firefox and IE and there was no problem. I think other people are able to download it as well as it's been dowloaded


Please, anyone could reupload the file. It is not more available on the sticktech server.
TIA


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests