D-Eye Windows Sidebar Gadget

Questions? Suggestions? Need help? Talk about anything related to Yawcam...
tellmewhy
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:19 am

Postby tellmewhy » Sat Jan 30, 2010 6:21 pm

Dragnier wrote:
  1. what browser are you using to get the "It's a webcam" page?
  2. have you tried using Internet Explorer?
  3. can you put the exact values you entered on the options page?
This is a blind-shot but you should try turning off your firewall for a couple of minutes and test the gadget.


Question 1 & 2 :

I use internet explorer version 07, I always have been using internet explorer as browser.

Question 3 :

I have been only trying on local network.
Yawcam running on two different desktops.
As values, i have been using,
  • URL : 192.1568.1.2 (When Yawcam was running on my Vista installed computer) and 192.168.1.8 (When Yawcam was running on my WindowsXP installed computer)
  • Port :Portsettings for Http for both computers.
    The portnumber configured is/was 8888.
  • Interval in seconds : Mostly i tried with 2.

I do think my firewall is correctly configured.
As i have, on both computers, OK for Http and stream when i push the "Am i online?" button.
On the local network i can access the Yawcam webpage for both, streaming and Http, without problems.
Turn off my firewall ? I'm going to think about it.

Advertisement



tellmewhy
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:19 am

Postby tellmewhy » Sun Jan 31, 2010 11:23 am

Dropping the firewall does not solve the problem.
I even have (re)installed Java, but no use either.
For your information,
When i look in the control panel, those Java entries are installed :
  • JavTM 6 Update 5
  • JavTM 6 Update 7
  • JavTM 6 Update 18
I'll restart with the basics to ensure correct installation.
I have downloaded the archive file, containing these files.
  • gadget.xml
  • main.htm
  • main.js
  • Settings.css
  • settings.html
  • settings.js
  • thumbnail.jpg
My questions to be sure i do everything as it should be done.
  1. Is the archive file complete ?
  2. Do i unpack the archive ?
    • If yes, in what directory do i have to unpack it ?
    • If no, what do i have to do ?
  3. If i have to unpack the archive, Once the files extracted, what file do have to install/dubbelclick to add it to the available gadgets ?
    For your info, when i dubbelclick on files
    • Html open in browser.
    • XML files open in notepad
    • js files do not open,
      I get an error :

      Image
    • css files open with frontpage
    When right click on the files i do not have the option "]Install".
    This with all extension mentionned above.
  4. What Java version do you have installed and where can i download it ?

What i did for installing now is :
  • Change extension from .zip to .gadget.
  • Dubbel click the .gadget file.
    The gadget is then installed in directory "C:\Users\[My_usrname]\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Sidebar\Gadgets\D-Eye0.2.gadget".
  • When adding to the slide bar i have then the choice between all available gadgets.

    Image
  • To add D-Eye to the slidebar i dubbelclick on the icon.
  • Then the white rectangle with a red cross in the upper left corner is added to the slidebar..

    Image

Maybe this give you an idea of what i did and(or) what i did wrong.

Dragnier
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:27 am

Postby Dragnier » Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:02 pm

you really don't have to open the gadget up as there is nothing there that needs editing. you just run the risk of messing the files up.

please post a screenshot of your desktop showing your browser with the "its a webcam" page of yawcam and the gadget with the filled up options page open. just use a local installation of yawcam so that people would not see your IP

edit: you should also try upgrading to IE8

i just noticed that malun already replied. thanks. :D

tellmewhy
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:19 am

Postby tellmewhy » Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:29 pm

Can you please answer my questions ?
I don't see what good upgrade to IE8 will do.
And i did already told what options i used.
Believe me Yawcam is running fine and can be accessed on local network and from the internet.

Screenshot Yawcam page :

Image

Screenshot Gadget settings :

Image

What i did for installing now is :
  • Change extension from .zip to .gadget.
  • Dubbel click the .gadget file.
    The gadget is then installed in directory "C:\Users\[My_usrname]\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Sidebar\Gadgets\D-Eye0.2.gadget".
  • When adding to the slide bar i have then the choice between all available gadgets.

    Image
  • To add D-Eye to the slidebar i dubbelclick on the icon.
  • Then the white rectangle with a red cross in the upper left corner is added to the slidebar..

    Image
Is there something wrong whit the way i installed the gadget ?

theoldschool
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:24 pm

Postby theoldschool » Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:19 pm

Against URL: you only need 192.168.1.2 or localhost - you don't need the http:// (incidentally you've typed ; instead of : after http//)

Dragnier
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:27 am

Postby Dragnier » Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:29 pm

do try the suggestion.

URL : 192.168.1.2
Port : 8888
Refresh : 2

tellmewhy
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:19 am

Postby tellmewhy » Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:36 pm

Dragnier wrote:do try the suggestion.

Do answer my questions please ?

Dragnier
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:27 am

Postby Dragnier » Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:49 pm

please read the replies. you are not using the right settings. enter the right settings and reupload images again.

theoldschool wrote:Against URL: you only need 192.168.1.2 or localhost - you don't need the http:// (incidentally you've typed ; instead of : after http//)


URL : 192.168.1.2
Port : 8888
Refresh : 2

tellmewhy
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:19 am

Postby tellmewhy » Sun Jan 31, 2010 6:09 pm

I have read them and adapted them, you just can't give a serious answer.
Thanks for NOTHING.

Thomas Acid
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 7:01 pm

Great Job!

Postby Thomas Acid » Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:23 pm

Good Job!
I have used "Active Desktop" to display Yawcam page in XP machines, and in my Win seven I have tried some "MacGyverisms", but nothings compared to D-Eye Gadget. Good Job!!

======================
=
Off topic: SC2 will rock!!!!! =
======================

Dragnier
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:27 am

Postby Dragnier » Mon Feb 01, 2010 2:06 am

@Thomas Acid
Thanks

@tellmewhy
i really can't help you anymore. you can't seem to follow simple instructions and you have a tendency for over-complicating things. doing stuff that weren't suggested and even totally unrelated stuff. you are also the only one who is having this problem. so sorry.

tellmewhy
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:19 am

Postby tellmewhy » Mon Feb 01, 2010 7:12 am

Dragnier wrote:@tellmewhy
i really can't help you anymore. you can't seem to follow simple instructions and you have a tendency for over-complicating things. doing stuff that weren't suggested and even totally unrelated stuff. you are also the only one who is having this problem. so sorry.

You don't seem to be capable to answer a couple of simple questions.
AI wanted to start from the beginning "From downloading and installing it correct".
So my first question was simple :
What did i do wrong installing the gadget ?.

This was how i did it now :

  • Change extension from .zip to .gadget.
  • Dubbel click the .gadget file.
    The gadget is then installed in directory "C:\Users\[My_usrname]\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Sidebar\Gadgets\D-Eye0.2.gadget".
  • When adding to the slide bar i have then the choice between all available gadgets.

    Image
  • To add D-Eye to the slidebar i dubbelclick on the icon.
  • Then the white rectangle with a red cross in the upper left corner is added to the slidebar..

    Image


If this isn't the correct way installing it, can you tell me what is ?

Dragnier
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:27 am

Postby Dragnier » Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:42 am

i don't know if you have trouble reading or something as the right way of installing the gadget has been posted more than a couple of times along with the right values to use for the settings. yet you still fail to follow it correctly.

if you can't get it to work then don't use it. i am not forcing you to use this, neither are you paying me for this. so this would be my last reply regarding your concerns.

prutserke
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:00 pm

Postby prutserke » Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:57 pm

Good day everybody,
Like to use Yawcam.
Its a good piece of software.

I like to see the gadget you made and downloaded the zip file.
When i dubbelclick on the zip file only WINZip opens.
What must i do then to install this gadget ?

Dragnier
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:27 am

Postby Dragnier » Mon Feb 01, 2010 2:29 pm

@prutserke

i do not get why you are getting a zip file when the file in the download link has a .gadget extension. what operating system are you using? this only works for the following operating systems

Windows Vista
Windows 7

If you are using either of those, just try changing the extension to .gadget and double click the file.


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests