Changing Default Quality of Stream to 75%

Questions? Suggestions? Need help? Talk about anything related to Yawcam...
Post Reply
mickopla
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:19 pm

Changing Default Quality of Stream to 75%

Post by mickopla »

I'm using Yawcam to stream my webcam of my Weather Website. Is there a way to change the default quality of the stream from 30% to 75% when you open the page?? Would much prefer the better quality without having to adjust each time i go to the page.

Edit: Found how to change the quality to 75% using the var quality in the template but by doing this its not changing the quality. Still stuck on 30%. I am using the Iframe code on my website. Would this be the reason why its not changing??
z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Post by z3r0c00l12 »

I guess you could put an instruction in the body tag, something like:

Code: Select all

 OnLoad="javascript:setQ(75);cTO();"
This is the code that gets executed when you click the button, so setting it as such makes it the default, sort of.
mickopla
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:19 pm

Post by mickopla »

z3r0c00l12 wrote:I guess you could put an instruction in the body tag, something like:

Code: Select all

 OnLoad="javascript:setQ(75);cTO();"
This is the code that gets executed when you click the button, so setting it as such makes it the default, sort of.
Would that be in the Body tag of the Iframe??
z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Post by z3r0c00l12 »

I think so, do you have an example of your webpage?
mickopla
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:19 pm

Post by mickopla »

z3r0c00l12 wrote:I think so, do you have an example of your webpage?
Yeah here is the link http://www.waterfordcityweather.com/
z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Post by z3r0c00l12 »

Try changing your body tag on the yawcam iframe to:

Code: Select all

<body onLoad="javascript:setQ(75);cTO();" style="background-color: #ffffff; background-image: none;">
mickopla
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:19 pm

Post by mickopla »

This is the code is used with no joy. Is this the way it should be? Cheers

<iframe src="http://xx.7.xxx.8:8081/index.html" width="800" height="680" style="padding: 0px; border:0px;" scrolling="no"><body onLoad="javascript:setQ(75);cTO();" style="background-color: #ffffff; background-image: none;"></iframe>
z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Post by z3r0c00l12 »

No, sorry, what you should do is edit the template you are using for yawcam, the page you have referenced as http://xx.7.xxx.8:8081/index.html is the one you want to modify and add to the body tag.

Open the file and find this line:
<body style="background-color: #ffffff; background-image: none;">

Then change it to this:
<body onLoad="javascript:setQ(75);cTO();" style="background-color: #ffffff; background-image: none;">
mickopla
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:19 pm

Post by mickopla »

z3r0c00l12 wrote:No, sorry, what you should do is edit the template you are using for yawcam, the page you have referenced as http://xx.7.xxx.8:8081/index.html is the one you want to modify and add to the body tag.

Open the file and find this line:
<body style="background-color: #ffffff; background-image: none;">

Then change it to this:
<body onLoad="javascript:setQ(75);cTO();" style="background-color: #ffffff; background-image: none;">
Edited the Template_js file to add the line you suggested but it didn't work i'm afraid. I appreciate your help by the way. Is there anything else i can try???
z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Post by z3r0c00l12 »

you didn't apply the change to the right file, when I check the tag on your website it's still the old one, can you give me the path to the file you edited? is it the one in the program files\yawcam\stream or in the users\<username>\.yawcam\stream?
mickopla
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:19 pm

Post by mickopla »

z3r0c00l12 wrote:you didn't apply the change to the right file, when I check the tag on your website it's still the old one, can you give me the path to the file you edited? is it the one in the program files\yawcam\stream or in the users\<username>\.yawcam\stream?
Its was the file in the program files\yawcam\stream folder that i edited.
z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Post by z3r0c00l12 »

try the one in your users\<username>\.yawcam\stream then restart yawcam.
mickopla
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:19 pm

Post by mickopla »

That did the trick. Thanks so much for your help. Much appreciated :D
SpectreGadget
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 3:51 pm

Re: Changing Default Quality of Stream to 75%

Post by SpectreGadget »

It's a couple of years later, but your info gave me just what I needed as well. So, just wanted to say thanks!

Jim
Post Reply