Help. Can't Get My Stream or HTTP Online.

Questions? Suggestions? Need help? Talk about anything related to Yawcam...
Bullock
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:26 pm

Help. Can't Get My Stream or HTTP Online.

Postby Bullock » Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:03 pm

From the Yamcam "Control Panel".


Image


I go to "Settings"

Image


Which brings up the "Edit>Sttings" window. I then go to the "Connection" tab

Image


I click on the "GET" button and my local IP is set.

Then I go to my "Stream" tab and click on it to set the port to 8081

Image


I go back to the "Connection" tab

Image


and click the "Am I Online" buttom.... and I get this...

Image


Both http and stream is enabled

Image


So I go to my Router/Modem and make sure the UPnP is enabled, it is

Image


After checking I find I am still not Online. So I go to port forwarding and I forward ports

Image


In the above pic and in my Router/modem it doesn't say to put in a IP address, but it won't accept the forwarding without one so I put in the LAN (?) network address a couple of different ways.

Image


I recheck and I am still not online according to the "Am I Online" check in the Control Panel> settings >connection window.


So now I disable all my virus protections and go to my windows based firewall and allow Yamcam

Image


I go back to the "Am I Online" check in the Control Panel> settings >connection window.

and I still get this...


Image

Any suggestions?

Advertisement



memoric
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:37 pm

Postby memoric » Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:04 am

You can't enter whatever LAN IP you like & expect it to work! :P
In the "LAN IP address" field you should enter your computer's LAN IP. You
can find out what that is by clicking your connection's little flashing monitor
at the taskbar (next to the clock), but I guess it's 192.168.0.2.
No matter what it is, delete those 192.168.0.1 entries, that's your router
& you are sending the traffic back to it.

Bullock
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:26 pm

Postby Bullock » Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:26 am

Thanks for responding I'm not sure how to find my computers IP as opposed to my routers. There was no flashing monitor in the task bar by the clock.
Image

z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Postby z3r0c00l12 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 3:55 am

Click Start -> Type "cmd" (without quotes), press Enter.
In the CMD window, type "ipconfig" (without quotes), press Enter.
You will see a line saying "IP Address:"

Bullock
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:26 pm

Postby Bullock » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:12 am

The IPv4 address ?

Image

Bullock
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:26 pm

Postby Bullock » Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:18 am

Got it.

It was a combination of things.

I got rid of all the ports I forwarded to the xxx.xxx.x.1 and changed it to xxx.xxx.x.2. That was the key to solving the problem... THANKS :D

Another question is...

if I have 10 webcams (not really, just saying) would I have to forward a port for each http and stream?

Bullock
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:26 pm

Postby Bullock » Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:21 am

What's the difference between the http and the stream? Do I need them both to have their own ports? ....why? how are they used differently?




Sorry for the large print but I can't read it otherwise
:oops:

memoric
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:37 pm

Postby memoric » Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:25 pm

Yes, you'd have to forward every stream/http to a different port. It's like
hot & cold water. They may come out from the same faucet (your monitor)
but they run in different pipes (ports).
When using http yawcam grabs a screenshot from the camera & shows it
to you. That's it, a static image. If you refresh the page you'll get another
one. But with stream that image gets refreshed continuously, so it looks
like a video.


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests