Questions? Suggestions? Need help? Talk about anything related to Yawcam...
Martijn

Post by Martijn »

Hey everyone,

I am a new user, using a webcam connected to my laptop to create a livestream of my dog and her newborn puppies. I want to have my webcam running a few hours a day. When it's offline, I want an offline image to display, so people will know it's switched off. I have already created a custom offline image using some help I found in another thread. The problem is that the offline image only appears randomly. Sometimes when people log in they get the offline image, most times they just get a timeout message. I know this problem isn't related to my custom image, because the original yawcam image reacted in the same way.

Is there anyone who has any idea why the offline image is not showing most of the times?

I'm pretty new to everything concerning websites and code, so it's probably just something I missed, I couldn't find an answer in the forums though so I am hoping anyone here knows the solution to my problem.

Thanx in advance for any advice you can give me!

Martijn
Mike Scott

Post by Mike Scott »

To see the Offline image the viewer must have a connection to the yawcam server, and it must be running. If they get a timed message then they did not connect with the yawcam server on your PC in the time allowed by the internet. They might get through to your PC but if the yawcam is not running, they will get nothing back and will time out. If they simply do not get a connection to your PC they will get time out, just like any other web site :-)
Martijn

Post by Martijn »

Thanx for your reply. I am still not quite getting where it is going wrong though.

My webcam setup works just like it should. I switch on "stream'' in Yawcam, and people can view my webcam by typing in my ip+port in their browser. Now when I want my webcam to go offline. I press the off button next to stream in the yawcam console. I leave my laptop switched on with Yawcam running.