Suggestion: Use specified scale while no device selected

Questions? Suggestions? Need help? Talk about anything related to Yawcam...
GeekDude
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 2:57 pm

Suggestion: Use specified scale while no device selected

Postby GeekDude » Fri May 10, 2013 3:06 pm

First off, great software. It blows all of the other free competition out of the water! Now, on to the suggestion.

My webcam isn't always connected to my computer, and when it isn't all the text I put at the bottom of the feed gets scrunched up together.

Image

I suggest using the specified image size (in my case, 640x480) even while it is displaying the "No device selected" screen.

Advertisement



z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Re: Suggestion: Use specified scale while no device selected

Postby z3r0c00l12 » Fri May 10, 2013 11:21 pm

Have you tried making the "No device selected" image 640x480 to see if the stream would take that size?

GeekDude
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: Suggestion: Use specified scale while no device selected

Postby GeekDude » Sat May 11, 2013 3:22 am

I could be missing something, but I can't find the image file you mentioned. Could you provide me with the relevant file path(s)?

z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Re: Suggestion: Use specified scale while no device selected

Postby z3r0c00l12 » Sat May 11, 2013 5:06 am

In the settings, you can change the offline image, as shown here: http://www.yawcam.com/help/help_set_offlineimage.php
If you change the image there to 640x480, that's what you should get.
You'll also notice the offline image settings mention the size, so my guess is that it takes the size of the image you give it.

GeekDude
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: Suggestion: Use specified scale while no device selected

Postby GeekDude » Sat May 11, 2013 5:25 am

My offline image has been 640x480 this whole time, so that's not the issue.
Note that the 'offline' image and the screen that is being displayed are different images.
When the webcam is connected correctly, the text does display correctly, by the way, just in case that wasn't clear.

z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Re: Suggestion: Use specified scale while no device selected

Postby z3r0c00l12 » Sat May 11, 2013 5:39 am

Sorry, I confused the offline image with the "No device selected" image in my last post.

You're right, I don't think there is a way of changing the "No Device Selected" image.

GeekDude
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: Suggestion: Use specified scale while no device selected

Postby GeekDude » Sat May 11, 2013 5:55 am

I didn't think so, hence the suggestion. I don't really care if it is implemented or not, but I would add it just for "completeness". Is the YawCam source available?

z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Re: Suggestion: Use specified scale while no device selected

Postby z3r0c00l12 » Sat May 11, 2013 5:22 pm

No, the source is not available. I think Malun has explained this somewhere. I'll add it to the suggestion list for Malun to review.

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: Suggestion: Use specified scale while no device selected

Postby malun » Wed May 22, 2013 6:16 pm

Thanks for the suggestion. The saved format is only a index number in the format list that the device is supplying. So the problem is that when the camera isn't connected, Yawcam doesn't know what formats that are available or what size the saved format is. Changing this will affect a too large part of the code, that I'm not willing to introduce this change now. There might be some some quicker "hacks" to achieve the same result, but that wouldn't feel right...

The source code is closed. This might change in the future, but for now it's closed.

/malun


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MikeMoyle and 14 guests