Page 2 of 2

Posted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:15 am
by RRRRyan
That'd be fantastic! :D Thanks again!

feature....

Posted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 10:41 pm
by Alex_CH
:wink: hi Maulun,
an other nice idea, I think, is to post the last captured frame with an overlay (in big letters) like "this cam is offline".... this gives not a impressure like (boooooh, this cam is always offline....) or users see what this cam shows if it's online....

Such "CAM-OFFLINE" -pages affect deterring me.

greets from switzerland....
Alex

http://www.hobbies-online.ch

Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 12:14 pm
by malun
I have now made a new applet that include the possibility to have an offline image on the separate server.

The applet code to use look like this:

Code: Select all

<APPLET CODE=YawApplet.class WIDTH="320" HEIGHT="240">
<param name="Host" value="_Address_to_computer_where_you_run_Yawcam_">
<param name="Port" value="8081">
<param name="OfflineImage" value="OfflineImage.jpg">
</APPLET>
(If you use 8081 as your port number, and the size 320x240.)
You also have to change the "_Address_to_computer_where_you_run_Yawcam_" into a real value.

In other words, you'll have to add the line:

Code: Select all

<param name="OfflineImage" value="OfflineImage.jpg">
to your current code.

You also have to place an image in the same directory as the applet on the server. In the example above it should be named OfflineImage.jpg, but is possible to change if you also change the name in the code. The image can be in the formats: .jpg or .gif or .png

whoops, almost forgot... You can get the new applet here:
http://www.yawcam.com/newapplet/YawApplet.class

Note: If you supply the applet with the OfflineImage param and the filename is incorrect or the file doesn't exist, You will not get any error message at all when the webcam is offline.

/malun

Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 12:18 pm
by malun
Another good Idea from Alex_CH :D
Thanks! I'll see what I can do...

/malun

Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:41 am
by Jii
Another good Idea from Alex_CH
Thanks! I'll see what I can do...
Yet another feature I've been missing. Malun, your program just keeps on getting better and better... :D

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 5:43 pm
by RRRRyan
This is awesome! Thanks!

Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 10:34 pm
by Alex_CH
:( Hi Malun,

on exit yawcam the "uploading offline image" popup apears, but on disable ftp it dont works, as before.

did you moved this funktion (I think copy was better, for both "exit and ftp-disable")

greets Alex

Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 12:47 am
by malun
Alex_CH wrote:on exit yawcam the "uploading offline image" popup apears, but on disable ftp it dont works, as before.
A popup with status messages will be visible when you close Yawcam. But this popup will not be shown when you disable the ftp. (Then the offline image will be uploaded via ftp in the background.)

Alex_CH wrote:did you moved this funktion (I think copy was better, for both "exit and ftp-disable")
I don't think I get what you mean here... Can you please explain again?

The offline image will be uploaded if you exit yawcam, but not if you just disable the ftp. Is this correct?

/malun

Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:19 pm
by Alex_CH
:oops: it was a little late at night, sorry.

The offline image will be uploaded if you exit yawcam, but not if you just disable the ftp. Is this correct?
Yes Malun, this is exactly what I meant.

It dont works since you changed it to post offline pic if exit application.

Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 2:24 pm
by malun
Ok, I have made some tests now. As you said the uploading of the offline image on exit works. The uploading works also when you disable the ftp, but not if you close yawcam before the upload is complete.
You will have to wait a while before you exit yawcam if you want the image to be uploaded...
This is perhaps not the best behaviour of the software... but again, a user must have the option to exit yawcam without a delay.
If you want to be sure that the image is uploaded, then use the option "Also save on Yawcam's exit" in the settings.

/malun

Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 4:06 pm
by Alex_CH
ok, so I tried it many times.

It works sometimes!

Can you add on uploading offline-pic an entry to the console.
Can yawcam save a log.txt (from console)?

This helps debugging.

Posted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:12 pm
by jighen
Sorry again,
I tried to understand this post, but without success, since I don't know what is an applet.

Anyway, my question match this discussion.
It is possible to change the off line and loading picture on straming?

If yes, please could you explain it to me step by step?

Many thanks in advance ;)

Posted: Thu Jul 03, 2008 5:39 pm
by tellmewhy
That's easy to do.
(I think)

In the installation directory "C:\Program Files\Yawcam\img", you will find the images loading.jpg and offline.jpg.
and ""C:\Program Files\Yawcam\stream\img" also.
I believe you just have to replace them with the image of your choice.
(Keep the same name)
(Over wright the existing content)