Yawcam BETA 2006-05-17

Beta versions of Yawcam will be announced in this section. You are also welcome to discuss the beta versions in here.
RamonS
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 2:43 am

Tests with beta 2006-05-17

Postby RamonS » Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:40 pm

Hi,
I used Yawcam some time ago and did not have it installed for some time due to some major system upgrades and OS reinstalls. I did get the current stable version 0.2.6 and attempted to run two instances with my Logitech QuickCam Web and Kodak DVC300. It failed.

I then gave the latest beta a try. I did install first only the files that come in the beta package and that made Yawcam crash right away. I then took the latest stable release and overwrote those files with the current beta files (quasi update) and that not only brought in some more stability, but I was able to run two instances at the same time having each use a different camera. I did come across some problems that may need to get addressed in a final version.

1.) Address conflicts for HTTP and Stream. If address is in use increase address by one and check again. The current workaround is to start one instance, change the settings, then start the other.

2.) Not surprising, the source selection is somewhat unstable (as it says, it is experimental). Nevertheless, after several tries it does work.

3.) Automatic opening of the settings form. Once it opened I did not have a chance to close it with either OK or Cancel or X. This problem occured only when two instances of Yawcam were running.

Besides that, it was as easy as ever. It for sure would be nice to be able to manage two (or more) cameras with the same Yawcam instance. That is maybe something for versions 0.3.x.

So, overall, stability seems to be the issue, everything else is right on. :D

Just one addition, it appears as that Yawcam always asks which device to use on startup when there is more than one available. It should connect to the one used last and only if that one is not available asks to select one. This way one can fire up Yawcam on boot and not worry about it.

Also, worthwhile to mention in the documentation is that one should connect USB webcams on different controllers. I had mine connected on the same and constantly got the bandwidth saturation message and nothing really worked (not even a single camera only). I do have two entirely independent USB controllers (one onboard, one PCI extension card) and using both fixed the problem. I can stream both cameras at the same time.

Finally, one praise, the idea to add a scheduler is absolutely fantastic!

Advertisement



malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Postby malun » Wed Sep 27, 2006 5:31 pm

First of all: Thanks for all the feedback!

Regarding the problems to get the beta version detect the webcam:
Check out this topic: http://www.yawcam.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=551

That was all for now.
/malun

RamonS
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 2:43 am

Postby RamonS » Sat Sep 30, 2006 1:43 am

The problem is not that Yawcam doesn't detect my cameras, it is that the two instances don't stick to the camera I selected previously. This is what happens:

Start Yawcam 1 -> Use cam 1 or 2 ? -> select cam 1
Start Yawcam 2 -> Use cam 1 or 2 ? -> select cam 2
Close Yawcam1 and 2
Start Yawcam 1 -> asks again which camera to use instead of using cam1
Start Yawcam 2 -> asks again which camera to use instead of using cam2

After selecting a camera, yawcam should only ask which camera to use if the one use last is not accessible.

surva
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby surva » Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:52 am

Motion Capture is fantastic for outdoors if you use define area and keep the view point away from the trees.

The beta version seems to be using alot of memory if you keep it running for long periods of time. I use it all day and night and after I close it the next morning, (I have to close it before I look at my defined directory, where I have the pictures save to, otherwise sometimes, it crashes explorer and steals a few of my tray icons) my swap file goes absolutely spaz for about 5 mins or more.

Streaming is working perfectly for me.

I am using a capture card with my samsung HI8 home cam, along side a program called splitcam and it all runs schmick.

I use it for security reasons.

Malun, have you got a way that I can send in a donation other than credit card or paypal? I don't have a credit card and I am not a member of Paypal. If you have PO box or a Direct Deposit account, I can do that.

Keep up the good work.

surva
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby surva » Sun Oct 15, 2006 5:24 am

My mistake on the swap file going spaz. I use thumbnails and because there were so many, the computer was taking about 15 mins to create the thumbs.db ...

If you are using thumbs in your motion detect directory, I advise turning the thumbs caching off. It bogs you down and sometimes crashes you.

The thumbs.db file I found was 36 meg and growing too. It was bigger than all the pictures I had in there.

Cheers.

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Postby malun » Sun Oct 15, 2006 3:06 pm

RamonS wrote:After selecting a camera, yawcam should only ask which camera to use if the one use last is not accessible.


I agree, and this is actually the way it works on my computer... Not sure why it doesn't work this way for you too. This will however probably be solved if I decide to use my new code (that I'm testing right now) for accessing the webcams.

surva wrote:My mistake on the swap file going spaz. I use thumbnails and because there were so many, the computer was taking about 15 mins to create the thumbs.db ...


I have also noticed that windows can be a bit slow when it has to deal with a directory containing a large amount of files. The 62271 pictures I let Yawcam produce to test the image array function kind of kills my computer if I have the thumbnail preview on. I have to list the files with the ordinary list option instead.

surva, regarding donations... send me an email :D

/malun

surva
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby surva » Mon Oct 16, 2006 2:14 am

The 62271 pictures I let Yawcam produce to test the image array function kind of kills my computer if I have the thumbnail preview on.


Yeah. Have you made sure that caching of thumb nails has been switched off in the folder options? (Top Menu)

Because I had thumb nail view and it bogged me down something shocking until I turned caching of thumbs off. Now my thumbs list quickly and without chugging of the Hard Drive. Although I had nothing near the number of 62271.

If you have not already turned caching off, give it a try and let me know if that helps your thumbs view. I'm curious.

It will also need to be noted in your future documentation of Yawcam, so that people may run it as it's fullest potential, if that is the case.

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1495
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Postby malun » Fri Oct 20, 2006 1:59 pm

If you have not already turned caching off, give it a try and let me know if that helps your thumbs view. I'm curious.

Turning the caching off helps, but the computer gets "too busy" anyway. It works fine to generate thumbs in ACDSee though. So I guess it's just explorer that handles this amount of files in a bad way...

/malun

surva
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:34 pm

Postby surva » Sat Oct 21, 2006 12:12 am

Ahh ok. Thanks for that info.


Return to “Beta”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests