HTML code to show my live cam?

Questions? Suggestions? Need help? Talk about anything related to Yawcam...
Post Reply
Izzy

HTML code to show my live cam?

Post by Izzy »

Hey,

I'm a new user to Yawcam (I downloaded today) and I'm unsure of how to use the features in order to get my live cam to show on my website. I've had a rummage through the forum and the Help section but I can't seem to find anything that helps.. :-\

What HTML code do I have to enter into my saved .htm pages in order to get my webcam to show? I have my FTP details entered into the Yawcam program, complete with the correct address, username password, port and so on.

I hope you guys can help me solve my stupid little problem!

Thanks in advance.
Kind regards,
Izzy
malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1593
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Post by malun »

If you want to use the ftp function to upload images to your webserver just enter your ftp details in the settings and enable the ftp output.

Now you can publish the image on your webpage by just adding an img tag in the html code. Like this:

Code: Select all

<img src="webcam.jpg" width="320" height="240" alt="webcam">
Replace webcam.jpg with the name you entered in the ftp settings in yawcam and replace 320 and 240 with the dimension of the image you use in the camera settings in yawcam.

/malun
Toxik

Stream

Post by Toxik »

if you need the stream you can just ripp the code out of the "www" folder in the YawCam root
bigjoe219
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 4:58 am

Post by bigjoe219 »

on my web page i just put steam ip xx.xxx.xx8081 as a link..i just click the link when iam at work..to check on the house...but i use my home pc as the yacam server
harrym
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 5:34 am

Post by harrym »

Izzy, I'm with you!

I have scoured this site for the answer to the same question you have.
I have tried to create a Web page from scratch which would include all the Java stuff and I've failed.

I kep finding references to this and that, do this, do that, and I've tried it all with no success. I keep seeing the following about Templates that everyone posts and I've tried what it says and it don't work. I get errors like "Can't find Java Applet" or some "Java????.class". It seems that this stuff is not on my PC, but in some hidden place out there in never never land.

"Quote"

About the Templates...
If you don't want to use the page designer, you can change the HTML for the page by your self by editing the templates. You find the templates in your stream directory: e.g. C:\Program Files\Yawcam\stream

The files are named:
template_ja.html - Used when Java Applet is selected.
template_js.html - Used when JavaScript is selected.

"enQuote"

I wish someone would spell it out step by step on the Website!
Including the code!

I do modest HTML, but haven't dabbled in Java.

Harry
tellmewhy
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:19 am

Post by tellmewhy »

I have gathered a few pieces of source code to show your webcam(s) on a webpage.
Maybe you find a solution to your problem.
See Yawcam - Ways to display your webcam in an HTML page.
malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1593
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Post by malun »

I just want to clarify some things. The templates are used to change the appearance of the web page when you use Yawcam's built-in webserver.

Option #1
If you want to include the java applet on your own page on your own web server, look at the example in <yawcam-directory>\stream\own_server_example.html
It looks like this:

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<title>Yawcam</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>

<body>
<div align="center">
  <p><strong><font size="5" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><font size="5" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">My 
    webcam!</f
ont></font></strong> </p>
  <p>
    <APPLET CODE="YawApplet.class" ARCHIVE="YawApplet.jar" CODEBASE="http://_Public_Address_:8081" WIDTH="320" HEIGHT="240">
      <param name="Host" value="_Public_Address_">
      <param name="Port" value="8081">
      <param name="Zoom" value="true">
    </APPLET>
  </p>
  <p><a href="http://www.yawcam.com" target="_blank"> <font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-seri
f">www.yawcam.com</font></a></p>
</div>
</body>
</html>
Option #2
If you want the javascript stream on your own web server then follow my instructions in this thread:
http://www.yawcam.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=616
more precise this post:
http://www.yawcam.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=2001#2001

Option #3
If you want you can use an iframe that includes the web page from Yawcam's built-in web server into your own web page on your own web server. You then add an iframe tag like this in your web page:

Code: Select all

<iframe src='http://_Public_Address_:8081/index.html' style='border:none;' frameborder='0'></iframe>
But most important is to first verify that you can get the built-in webserver in Yawcam up and running before you try anything else. You will never get the other options working if not the built-in webpage is working. Use the Help functions "Am I online?", "What's my url?" and "Configure router?" to get it up and running.

/malun
Emayald
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 8:30 pm

Post by Emayald »

malun wrote:
Option #2
If you want the javascript stream on your own web server then follow my instructions in this thread:
http://www.yawcam.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=616
more precise this post:
http://www.yawcam.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=2001#2001

Option #3
If you want you can use an iframe that includes the web page from Yawcam's built-in web server into your own web page on your own web server. You then add an iframe tag like this in your web page:

Code: Select all

<iframe src='http://_Public_Address_:8081/index.html' style='border:none;' frameborder='0'></iframe>
But most important is to first verify that you can get the built-in webserver in Yawcam up and running before you try anything else. You will never get the other options working if not the built-in webpage is working. Use the Help functions "Am I online?", "What's my url?" and "Configure router?" to get it up and running.

/malun
Hello everybody

I have this situation and hope you will be agree to help me:
a pc and yawcam is running on with a webcam, behind a router and with a static ip.
I'm able too see the stream of the webcam in my own network (static_ip:port)
i can see the webcam outside my network (mydyndns:port)
but as soon I try to see the webcam in a webpage located on the webserver of my internet provider, I obtain the java red cross. And if I insert the iframe, IE says me there is a connexion failure.
And, at least,, Firefox met problem when I use him with the java in html (he is stopped)
I don't know what i can change and especially fixed to see streaming from my website
all help will be highly appreciate
malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1593
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Post by malun »

This could happen because you can't see your own stream on your public address (when you are on the inside of your network).

Do you use a router in your network to connect to the Internet? Most routers can't handle accessing the public address when you are sitting on the inside of the router. However if this is the case you will probably already be visible to everybody else outside your local network.

When you are at home, can you see the stream on the public address (yourdyndns:port)? Probably not. This is however the address you shall use when for example pointing out the iframe. Otherwise nobody else will be able to see you.

Send me an email with the address to your webcam and I can see if I find anything strange...

/malun
Emayald
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 8:30 pm

Post by Emayald »

Hi, Malun

I keep you inform of my test!

I made a copy of own_server_example_js.html on my first website, with the dyndns.org data, as sent to you by mail
I've open the port on the computer where Yawcam is running
I copy all my website files on an another web service

I've tried outside my network with the dyndns and port adress: it's working

but, as soon I try on a website, I can't receive the stream. I get the error: stack overflow line: 320.

So, did you have to check something?
At this moment, I have no more idea to test.
harrym
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 5:34 am

Post by harrym »

Thanks for the help Malun!

What is the difference between Java Script and a Jave Applet.
I have no idea which one to use for streaming video.

Thanks!
HarryM
tellmewhy
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:19 am

Post by tellmewhy »

I did asked the same question once,
See YAWCAM - JavaScript versus JavaApplet for the reply.
malun wrote:Java Applet and JavaScript has some different options and handles zooming and scaling differently.
Java Script is more lightweight for the viewing browser.

Try both and see what you prefer. I prefer JavaScript
(I will soon release a new beta version with a new stream type added. In the next version Yawcam will be able to stream in Windows Media format.)

/malun
Post Reply