Multiple Cameras

Questions? Suggestions? Need help? Talk about anything related to Yawcam...
Rob_Roach
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 3:33 pm

Multiple Cameras

Post by Rob_Roach »

Hi,

I have two simple web cameras that I use simimultanoeusly and I can get the two cameras working, using 2 instances of YAWCAM, ACE, great. The issue I have is that YAWCAM only "remembers" the settings for 1 camera so when I restart the two cameras I have to open the control pannel up and reset the second instance of the program to the second camera.

I have run the two programs from different file locations as I thought that it might save data in these files.

Any solutions
Love the program.
Thanks
Rob
z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Post by z3r0c00l12 »

Can you go in your 2 Yawcam settings folders, usually named ".yawcam" and post the Yawcam_settings.xml files here or on a file sharing site.
Rob_Roach
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 3:33 pm

Post by Rob_Roach »

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<java version="1.6.0_29" class="java.beans.XMLDecoder">
<object class="yawcam.SettingsHolder">
<void property="cam">
<int>3</int>
</void>
<void property="conPublicIP">
<string>82.31.212.197</string>
</void>
<void property="firstTime">
<boolean>false</boolean>
</void>
<void property="pos_main">
<object class="java.awt.Point">
<int>839</int>
<int>376</int>
</object>
</void>
<void property="pos_prev">
<object class="java.awt.Point">
<int>484</int>
<int>-5</int>
</object>
</void>
<void property="streamPage_bgCol">
<object class="java.awt.Color">
<int>0</int>
<int>0</int>
<int>0</int>
<int>255</int>
</object>
</void>
<void property="streamPage_heading">
<string>CT Gauge Camera 1</string>
</void>
<void property="streamPage_title">
<string>CT Gauge 1</string>
</void>
<void property="stream_CPort">
<int>8082</int>
</void>
<void property="stream_ImgProdSleep">
<int>33</int>
</void>
<void property="stream_appletSize">
<int>4</int>
</void>
<void property="stream_quality">
<float>1.0</float>
</void>
<void property="stream_type">
<int>3</int>
</void>
</object>
</java>

detials as requested thanks
z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Post by z3r0c00l12 »

Is that the only one you have? you should have 2 separate files, one for each instance of yawcam.

If you don't have 2, then it explains why you are having issues.
Rob_Roach
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 3:33 pm

Post by Rob_Roach »

Hi,

Thanks - yep thats the only one. Now for the stupid question - when I install a second Yawcam program how do I get it to create a seperate .xml file.

Thanks

Rob :)
memoric
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:37 pm

What I did...

Post by memoric »

This is what I did:

1> I installed yawcam, let's say in C:\Programs\yawcam.
2> I copied the entire folder, pasted & renamed it to yawcam01.
3> Then I pasted another copy of it & renamed it yawcam02.
4> I opened the file service_profile.cfg in C:\Programs\yawcam01 with notepad & edited to point in C:\Programs\yawcam01\MySettings
instead of the default MyDocuments.
5> Then I did the same with the file service_profile.cfg in C:\Programs\yawcam02.

So I can run two different instances of yawcam.exe, the one in \yawcam01 folder & the one in \yawcam02 folder. Each one has its own
settings in \yawcam01\MySettings & \yawcam02\MySettings respectively.

--Edit--
I think that I had to edit the file launcher.cfg too, in C:\Programs\yawcam01 (& C:\Programs\yawcam02) with notepad & I added the word
"service" at the end (without "" of course). So the line would end like this:
...blah...blah.../splash.gif yawcam.Main service
--------

It's been a while since I did that, so I hope I didn't forget anything.
Also I don't know if it's ok to delete (or uninstal) the original folder C:\Programs\yawcam. I just let it be, it's of small size anyway.

I hope that helped.
Last edited by memoric on Wed Dec 14, 2011 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rishlee
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:47 am

good job

Post by rishlee »

wow. thank you memoric., somehow i know how to install my yawcam but i had some difficulty my settings.. however thank you for your help.
Rob_Roach
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 3:33 pm

Post by Rob_Roach »

Thanks - I will give it a go.

Rob
memoric
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:37 pm

Post by memoric »

You're welcome guys. Just check my --Edit-- section in my previous post because I think I had omitted something.
Now it must be right. If you still have trouble let me know so I'll check it further.
Rob_Roach
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 3:33 pm

Post by Rob_Roach »

Excellent :D :D .

Now - the only issue I have is that it seems to not to remember the preview box is ticked

Also how do I turn of the second instance request box.

Apart from that you are a star. :D :D

Rob
z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Post by z3r0c00l12 »

There is a text file hack:

disablerunningcheck.txt
Yawcam checks if another instance of Yawcam is already running at startup. You can disable this check by creating this file. More info here.
memoric
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:37 pm

Post by memoric »

Rob_Roach wrote: ...Now - the only issue I have is that it seems to not to remember the preview box is ticked...
Yea, it does that to me too. :(
z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Post by z3r0c00l12 »

You both mean the "Show preview" checkbox in Settings -> Startup, right?
Rob_Roach
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 3:33 pm

Post by Rob_Roach »

Hi,

Actually no - just checking and in
settings - startup - preview is ticked and ok. (no preview shown)
in
windows the preview box is unticked each time i start. If I tick it all is well and preview appears

Sorry for poor description 1st time round.

Thanks

Rob
memoric
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:37 pm

Post by memoric »

z3r0c00l12 wrote:You both mean the "Show preview" checkbox in Settings -> Startup, right?
Yes, that's what I meant. It stays ticked but the preview never opens at startup.
I have to do it manually. It's no big deal, just saying...
Post Reply