Two sources of video, TV and USB cam

Questions? Suggestions? Need help? Talk about anything related to Yawcam...
Post Reply
lwsmiser
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:58 am

Two sources of video, TV and USB cam

Post by lwsmiser »

I have two sources of video on my computer. An ATI all-in-one TV tuner and a Logitek QuickCam Orbit MP. Yawcam finds only the TV tuner. I do have a Security camera which I connect to the TV tuner on the Composite input but it is found only if the TV tuner is set on Composite signal otherwise it defaults to the cable TV feed. The QuickCam is a ccd and apparently is not or cannot be detected by Yawcam. Is it possible to get yawcam to detect my usb camera:?:
malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1593
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Post by malun »

Yes, it should be possible. The problem right now is that Yawcam gets confused when you have several capture devices.
Anyhow, at the moment I'm working on a version that handles this much better. So far my tests with this version looks good, but it's not ready yet. A beta version will be released as soon as possible.

/malun
lwsmiser
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:58 am

detecting quickcams

Post by lwsmiser »

I checked some more online posts and found one which suggested I run another program while detecting cameras. I started the ATI TV program which occupied the tv tuner and Yawcam was able to detect the quickcam. I got it to work on the local web server but am not sure about my net2go website. I am not a programmer and figuring out how to include a java applet in the web page's php files is a mystery to me and I could use some help. I have forwarded the 8081 port on my computer to the router but have not figured out how to write the java applet into the Net2go website php files.
malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1593
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Post by malun »

You will have to add the code in your php-page so that the following code is generated to the viewing browser:

Code: Select all

<APPLET CODE=YawApplet.class CODEBASE="http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8081/" WIDTH="320" HEIGHT="240">
<param name="Host" value="xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx">
<param name="Port" value="8081">
</APPLET>
(Where you exchange all the xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx with the public address pointing the computer where you run Yawcam.)

How you should edit your php-page depends on how it looks right now ;-)
But you should probably edit it to include something like this:

Code: Select all

<?php

echo '<APPLET CODE=YawApplet.class CODEBASE="http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8081/" WIDTH="320" HEIGHT="240">
<param name="Host" value="xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx">
<param name="Port" value="8081">
</APPLET>';

?> 
Good Luck!
/malun
lwsmiser
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:58 am

viewing webcam on php coded website

Post by lwsmiser »

I'll give it a try. I'm not sure in which php file to put the code. And where to I put the applet class file? Here is a list of the files in the web folder.
Directory of D:\Program Files\Pure Networks\Network Magic\WebSer

11/30/2006 01:15 PM <DIR> .
11/30/2006 01:15 PM <DIR> ..
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 772 authorize.php
11/22/2006 04:10 PM 6,841 backup_header..txt
11/30/2006 01:15 PM <DIR> cameras
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 161,862 comp.ico
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 5,510 details.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 11,446 download.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 8,879 error.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 27,006 favicon.ico
11/30/2006 01:15 PM <DIR> feed
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 2,201 glossary.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 5,335 help.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 1,325 help_home.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 79,898 help_owner.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 17,885 help_troubleshooting.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 56,895 help_using.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 16,415 image.php
11/30/2006 01:15 PM <DIR> images
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 3,239 info.php
11/17/2006 08:57 AM <DIR> locales
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 18,117 login.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 434 logout.php
10/27/2005 12:02 PM 9,679 monitor_config.php
11/03/2005 11:06 AM 3,405 monitor_stats.php
11/22/2006 06:01 PM 4,341 pagerank.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 2,803 panels.php
11/26/2006 08:39 PM 36,288 places.php
11/14/2006 11:52 PM 36,172 placesold.php
11/30/2006 01:15 PM <DIR> preferences
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 2,524 robots.php
11/22/2006 04:06 PM 797 ror.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 37,562 shareview.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 14,251 slideshow.php
11/22/2006 04:28 PM <DIR> styles
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 13,457 upload.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 11,508 uploadform.php
11/26/2006 08:22 PM 10,613 webcamera.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 4,156 _config.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 6,000 _cookie_util.php
10/10/2005 11:21 AM 2,112 _counter_panel.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 430 _details_panel.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 30,722 _folderutils.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 1,623 _footer.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 839 _footer_panel.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 7,138 _glossary.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 3,057 _handle_login.php
11/22/2006 04:27 PM 7,087 _header.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 1,153 _header_panel.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 1,758 _links_panel.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 3,851 _loginutils.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 10,515 _login_js.php
10/27/2005 11:41 AM 747 _monitor_panel.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 14,816 _network_map.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 3,862 _public_error_states.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 6,015 _session_common.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 1,179 _styles_import.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 4,343 _tasks_panel.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 22,648 _util.php
51 File(s) 741,511 bytes

Directory of D:\Program Files\Pure Networks\Network Magic\WebServer\web\cameras


11/30/2006 01:15 PM <DIR> .
11/30/2006 01:15 PM <DIR> ..
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 1,336 D-Link.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 2,049 Linksys.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 1,288 TRENDnet.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 6,523 USB.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 660 Veo.php
11/09/2006 02:10 AM 2,746 webcamerautils.php
6 File(s) 14,602 bytes
2 Dir(s) 52,099,164,672 bytes free
malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1593
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Post by malun »

First of all: You are not supposed to upload the applet class file! This file must be loaded via the codebase tag. So don't upload any class file. just edit the php.

Which php file to edit depends on where you want the camera and how your site is organized.

Okey, I just checked what Net2go is :D

I suggest you create a new file called yawcam.php in the first directory you listed. Start by including the second code snippet from my last post in this new file.
Then edit _links_panel.php to include a link to the new yawcam.php.

That should do the trick.

/malun
Post Reply