Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Beta versions of Yawcam will be announced in this section. You are also welcome to discuss the beta versions in here.
Post Reply
malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1498
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by malun » Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:25 pm

Get the new beta release:
yawcam_BETA_2013-01-29.exe (4,43 MB)


What's new since last official release?
- Fixed problem with spaces in file path for MD's Run .exe
- Fixed better argument handler for MD's run .exe
- Fixed that MD sometimes got triggered on exit.
- Fixed problem with certificate handler for FTPES.
- Added memory for the settings in the function Images to Movie.
- Added memory for the capture dialog's file path.
- Added option to force timezone.
- Added device error monitor.

What's new since last beta release?
- Improvements for the device error monitor.


/malun

Advertisement



malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1498
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by malun » Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:43 pm

The new monitor for device errors should work on all ordinary cameras with a natural level of noise in the image.
If you're using Yawcam with a image source without any noise (like a screen capture driver for example), you might get some problems with Yawcam trying to reconnect the device.
In that case disable this function by clicking: "Settings -> Edit settings... -> Startup"
and disable the option "Enable device error monitor".

/malun

z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by z3r0c00l12 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:11 am

1) How well will this work when the room becomes pitch black? 2) Will Yawcam disconnect and reconnect the webcam constantly?
3) When the device error monitor reconnects the camera, is it going to trigger the motion detection?

I've noticed on my laptop, when I close the lid and it goes to sleep, Yawcam stops, when I re-open the lid and the laptop wakes up, the camera's image is stuck, but since the camera was completely black, it's hard to tell if it's stuck or not because being completely black, there is barely any noise. This may affect the outcome of question 1 above.

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1498
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by malun » Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:48 am

z3r0c00l12 wrote:1) How well will this work when the room becomes pitch black?

Should work fine, since even if the room is pitch black the camera will produce noise in the image.

z3r0c00l12 wrote:2) Will Yawcam disconnect and reconnect the webcam constantly?

Yawcam will only reconnect the device if the image is completely frozen.

z3r0c00l12 wrote:3) When the device error monitor reconnects the camera, is it going to trigger the motion detection?

No. If the motion detection is running, it will be deactivated during the reconnect. It will still look like the motion detection is active, but internally it will be deactivated during the reconnect and not trigger the actions.

z3r0c00l12 wrote:I've noticed on my laptop, when I close the lid and it goes to sleep, Yawcam stops, when I re-open the lid and the laptop wakes up, the camera's image is stuck, but since the camera was completely black, it's hard to tell if it's stuck or not because being completely black, there is barely any noise. This may affect the outcome of question 1 above.

To be honest I haven't tried the scenario of hibernation and sleep of the computer. With some luck it could resolve the black image, but there could also cause the device monitor to reconnect the device time after time. I will run some tests on this...

/malun

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1498
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by malun » Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:31 pm

Looks like the handler for hibernation was broken. Probably happened with some JRE upgrade a while back...
I had to make some modifications to get it work again.

Since it didn't work, the device monitor did behave strange.

Please try new beta version:
yawcam_BETA_2013-01-30.exe
and see if that fixes the problem with a frozen image after computer sleep and wakeup.

/malun

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1498
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by malun » Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:04 pm

@z3r0c00l12:
Have you had time to test the new version? :D
Does Yawcam behave correctly when your computer wakes up?

/malun

z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by z3r0c00l12 » Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:40 pm

No, not yet, I barely use my laptop anymore, but I probably will next week.

Basara
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:49 am

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by Basara » Tue Feb 05, 2013 3:33 pm

malun wrote:Get the new beta release:

- Added memory for the settings in the function Images to Movie.
- Added memory for the capture dialog's file path.

/malun


These 2 work great

UPDATE:

Just an observation:

The top section of the Images to Movie box, where you select the images to include remembers the LAST FOLDER used (For me this is good and how I like it).
THe bottom section of the Images to Movie box, where you select the .MOV filename/location, remembers the folder you selected the FIRST TIME you created a movie (for me where I selected on Jan 29th when I installed this Beta ver), not the last folder used.

I think both should remember the last location used? (like the the top section does)

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1498
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by malun » Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:14 pm

They are both supposed to save the last folder used. If not, there is a bug. I'll have to check this when I'm coming home...

/malun

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1498
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by malun » Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:33 am

Right now, the output path only get saved if you are using the browse button. It will not get saved if you change the filename or path by hand.
I'm fixing that. Stay tuned...

/malun

Basara
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:49 am

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by Basara » Sat Feb 09, 2013 3:50 pm

malun wrote:It will not get saved if you change the filename or path by hand.
/malun


That will be exactly it, my file path is:

F:\AllSkyCam\DD-MM-YYYY\DD.mov

I generally just change the DD digits by hand as I usually convert a few days footage at a time (this camera is an astronomical camera recording the night sky, not a security camera, so it builds up a lot of images over a few days!)
Obviously to add the images, its done by the Add Images button and therefore that part works fine.

Thanks for all your fine work

malun
Site Admin
Posts: 1498
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by malun » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:25 pm

@Basara:
Please give this new beta version a try:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3394

This version will save the output file name every time you create a new movie.
(No need to use the browse button any more...)

/malun

jordandalley
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:47 am

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by jordandalley » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:16 am

Thanks malun. Will give this a go and post back the results :)

Cheers,
J.

jordandalley
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:47 am

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by jordandalley » Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:18 am

I've tried your BETA and alas, it's still doing it.

I've ran a combination of different cables as I suspected that this could have been the issue.

I bought a special long distance cable which has (i think) a USB Hub on the end of it.

I can try a direct cable which would be a lot shorter but still over the recommended 5m limit. I think it will be under 10m...

z3r0c00l12
Moderator
Posts: 1210
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 am

Re: Yawcam BETA 2013-01-29

Post by z3r0c00l12 » Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:09 pm

I believe the limit for USB 2.0 is around 18 feet, any longer than that and the communication may take too long to loopback and fail. Some USB extension cables offer greater distances by including a repeater on one end. Other variations use ethernet cables to extend the range, but all in all, they must be certified USB 2.0. Most of the USB Extensions I saw were not properly certified for USB 2.0 and only worked as a USB 1.1 device. USB 1.1 is not fast enough to operate a webcam, which is likely why you are having issues if you go above that cable length. Try plugging the camera directly to the computer, which should result in approximately 6 feet of cable, depending on the webcam, and the problem should resolve itself. This is more of a hardware problem than a software one, so there isn't much that can be done on Yawcam's side to fix it.

Post Reply